Honey Face Wash

2014-01-26-GoldenAmberHoneyEarthDrReeseHalter

So I began my natural journey with washing my face with honey in the morning.

“like wut” you may say? honey? that liquid gold that bees make for our consumption?

“why yes,” I answer. That liquid gold indeed.

Honey has been used for cennntturriiieessss. Pretty sure Cleopatra used honey to wash her face, and who doesn’t want to look like Cleopatra? Honey is chock-full of good stuff for our skin. Drinks it up like it’s.. ya know.. honey. It is naturally anti-bacterial, regulates skin’s PH level, and it’s full of nutrients and antioxidants.

HOWEVER— do not be fooled into thinking all honey is equal. for it is not. Those cute bear shaped honey containers are so processed that everything good in it has been killed. So even though it may look adorable, and you may take pleasure in squeezing it every morning, you’re really not doing your skin any favors. The best is raw, unfiltered honey. I get mine at Costco because it’s a huge thing for only like ten bucks or something. I have read that Manuka honey is ultra-awesome, but apparently it’s super pricey (and any raw, unfiltered honey works just as well.)

Anywho, I love it. My skin looks better, it feels SO soft afterwards, and I feel like I’m really pampering myself every morning. Here’s what I do ::

Need-

  • honey (obvi) about 1 tsp
  • washcloth
  • hot and & cold water
  • something to keep your hair back
  • *** I also add in a drop of Melaleuca oil (tea tree) because I’m prone to breakouts ***

Directions-

  • Dampen face with warm wash cloth to open your pores. Having a little water on your face makes the honey glide on easier too.
  • Massage honey onto face with fingers in small, circular motions.
  • Leave on for at least 30 seconds, but 10-15 minutes is best.
  • Run the washcloth under really hot water (but don’t burn yourself now.)
  • Then place over your face to kind of steam it for about thirty seconds or until the washcloth isn’t hot anymore.
  • Rinse face with cold water to close pores and pat dry.

ET VIOLA! you’re beautiful and have baby soft skin. (and you also smelled like honey for a bit)

Leave a Reply

